Granite Chips!

December 1, 2016 Leave a comment

With many thanks to Ralph Kenyon, we have a solution to the mystery found in the On the School Steps photograph published earlier this year… here’s the complete page!


On The School Steps…

July 9, 2016 1 comment
Class of 1963, submitted by Ed Woodis

Class of ?, submitted by Ed Woodis (includes some folks from ’61 and ’63.)


Categories: 1960's, Classmates

More Reunion Photos

With many thanks to Ed Woodis, Class of ’65… here are some additional photos including some of the food preparation. (If others have photos to share, please email them as an attachment to Walter Boomsma.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Chester High Alumni “Come Home”

Chester – As approximately 100 Chester High Alumni and friends gathered in town, there developed a picture of history, nostalgia, and community/school spirit.  The annual reunion and meeting always draws a large number of people associated with the former Chester High School, including Chester Residents who attended or graduated from Gateway after Chester High School closed in the late 1960’s. This year’s meeting was held on June 26 at the restored Chester Train Station.

Special recognition was given to Aldo Bizzazarro from the class of 1938 who was present for his 78th reunion. Bizzazaro was given the distinct honor of leading the buffet line together with Eleanor Barrett Laurent and Harriet Kelso Gilman from the class of 1939. The delicious spread was prepared by Chester Foundation workers under the direction of Barbara Pease Huntoon.

Association President Walter Boomsma noted that these reunions are “drifting in the direction of becoming as much a town event as a school reunion.” Noting that the Chester Foundation handled most of the meeting arrangements and food, he also pointed out that the Historical Society supports the occasion by offering special hours for alumni to visit prior to the reunion. “I think this is proof that small town America is alive and well, at least here in Chester,” he said.

The graduating class of 1966 celebrated their  fifty-year anniversary. Returning members included David Zucker, Karla Zmuda Franke, Maureen Austin Meirs, Robert White Jr., Paul Young, Judy Young, John DeMoss, and Dorothy Besaw Woodall.

The Association re-elected Walter Boomsma as President for his eleventh year. Also returned to office were Vice President Robert Goewey, Treasurer George Morey, Jr. Mary Story Burkholder was elected Secretary.

Janice Leone Brown was reelected and John Young was elected to the Board of Directors. Scholarship Custodians include Duane C. Pease, Elinore Whitcher Gordon, and Edward Woodis.

Scholarship awards were presented to Gabriella Ramires Lyons, Ben Van Henigan, Chelsea Edinger, Ben Jameson, and Lauren Venn—all 2016 graduates from Gateway Regional High School.

The Association has already started planning for the next annual meeting, scheduled for June 27, 2017. Members agreed unanimously to maintain the Chester location and time of the annual event because “it’s good to be home.” Those associated with or in some way connected with Chester and/or Chester High School are encouraged to be certain the Association has current mailing information by contacting Mary Burkholder, Association Secretary, 96 Llewellyn Drive, Westfield MA 01085.  The Association also maintains an informational website at and a Facebook page.

A few photos…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was a busy year… I didn’t get enough photos! If anyone has some they are willing to share, please let me know!

2016 Reunion Attendee List

This is a reasonably close list of folks who attended… it’s possible we missed somebody–if so, sorry! Let us know and we’ll fix it!

Aldo Bizzozero

Eleanor Barrett Laurent
Harriet Kelso Gilman

Priscilla Packard Suriner
Anita Sainio Macia

Felix Salzano

Donald S. Pease

Barbara Gerrish Thomas
Phyllis Salvini Donovan
Marjorie Savery Pulver
Charles H. Myers
Fay Peltier Peiorgiovanni
Muriel Pease Boisseau
Ruth Pease Scott

Floyd Pease Sr.
Edward Willey
William Giles

Tino Cardarelli
James Pease
Clayton Pease

Persis LaMontagne Webb
Stephen Salvini
Verna Shafer McCullough

William Kovisto
John H. Young
James Mores
Geraldine Pease

Janice Leone Brown
Claire Salvini Willey

Vivian McCall Salvini
George A. Morey Jr.
Richard Mitchell
John Besancon Jarvis

Curtis Bush

Glenn Fish

Jean Elder Bush
Mary Niskanen Thayer
Martha Kelly Paquette
Wendell R. Cook

Mary Woodis Gleason
Ralph Kenyon Jr.
Judy Davenport Olson
Nancy Smith Burrel
Frances Smith Judd

Jackie DeMoss Conklin

Duane C. Pease

Annette Fimbel LaMountain
Bruce Cooper
Walter Boomsma
Edward Woodis
Herbert Voudren

David Zucker
Karla Zmuda Franke
Robert White Jr.
Paul Young
Judy Young
John DeMoss
Dorothy Besaw Woodall

Diane Kelly DeMoss

John Hultman

Carol Stenico

Deborah Caputo Broga
Ed Chaffee

Robert Broga

Gretchen Ebelt Gautheir

Sherran Blair Palazz

Ben Jameson
Gabi Ramires Lyons

Anthony Russo

Invitation Now Available

May 15, 2016 1 comment

For those who simply can’t wait, you can download a copy of the invitation to this year’s reunion right from this website: 2016 Invitiation.

Blue DevilC.H.S.A.A. Annual Meeting and Reunion

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Officer/Board Meeting at 1:00 p.m.

Social Hour starts at 2:00 p.m.

Business Meeting at 4:30 p.m.

Categories: Reunion Discussion